RIAI Annual Awards Universal Design / Building for All Category

Since 2013, the Centre for Excellence in Universal Design (CEUD) at the National Disability Authority(NDA), has supported the Royal Institute of the Architects of Ireland (RIAI) Universal Design category as part of their annual awards. The aim of the award is to promote excellence in Universal Design among the architectural profession in Ireland. As part of its support for the award, CEUD invites a national or international architect to chair the jury for the award and to present a lecture related to Universal Design to RIAI members.


CPD Opportunities for Architects:

As part of its continued support for the award, CEUD invites a national or  international architect to chair the jury for the Universal Design award and present to RIAI members on their work.

  • In 2019, Ali Grehan, MRIAI, Dublin City Architect, was the Jury Chair. Ali leads a multi-disciplinary team in Dublin City Council responsible for developing a broad urban design agenda including the delivery of diverse projects in relation to housing, public realm, community and cultural infrastructure. Her career has spanned private practice in Dublin, London and Bilbao, and in the Public Sector; where her particular focus has been on large-scale urban regeneration. Prior to becoming City Architect in 2008, Ali was Chief Architect with Ballymun Regeneration Ltd, then the largest public regeneration project underway in Europe. She also worked with the RPA (now TII) delivering Dublin’s first LUAS Light Rail system. Ali devised and coordinated Dublin’s bid for World Design Capital 2014, now continuing as the design promotion platform, PIVOT Dublin.


  • In 2018, Peter Crowley B.Arch Sc, Dip.Arch, MRIAI was the Jury Chair. Peter studied at Dublin Institute of Technology and during this time he spent periods working in both the Netherlands and Ireland. Prior to forming PAC Studio, Peter also worked as a project architect with Bucholz McEvoy Architects for seven years. Peter was awarded the RIAI Deirdre O’ Connor Medal for Professional Practice in 2005 and is a member of the RIAI. He currently tutors in the 4th Year Architecture Studio at the Dublin School of Architecture, DIT.


  • In 2017, Merritt Bucholz was the Jury Chair. Merritt is founding Professor of Architecture at the School of Architecture University of Limerick (SAUL) and has been leading SAUL since its inception in 2005. Bucholz McEvoy Architects are noted for award winning low energy designs, and have twice represented Ireland at the Architecture Biennale in Venice.


  • In 2016, Diana Anderson, MD, March was the Jury Chair. Diana is a licensed architect (Order of Architects of Quebec, Member of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada, LEED AP) and a Physician trained in Internal Medicine. As a "dochitect", Dr. Anderson combines educational and professional experience in both medicine and architecture in order to truly understand what is involved in medical planning and working within the healthcare environment. Dr. Anderson spoke about Evidence-Based Healthcare Design. How can hospitals and healthcare buildings be designed from a Universal Design approach.


  • In 2015, the Jury Chair was Ed Steinfeld, ArchD, AIA SUNY Distinguished Professor - Department of Architecture University of Buffalo, USA. Ed gave a lecture on Universal Design at the launch of CEUD’s Universal Design Guidelines for homes in Ireland